“Homeless”

Our Home

I decided to make my inaugural post about our recent move. I decided that because it really gives meaning to the blog title “Every Which Way But Down”.
on October 30, 2012 we (hubby, kids & I) handed the keys to our “real” home back to the loan holder. We had been living in a doublewide manufactured home in a manufactured home community. We had taken over payments on the home from my youngest brother in April of 2010. At the time both hubby and I were working full-time. But in mid May of 2011 I left my job because of health reasons and also because in the fall of 2011 my 2 oldest children would be leaving for school almost 2 hours before my youngest who was 9 at the time and we needed someone to be with her in the mornings. Fast forward back to this fall… money has been very tight and robbin peter to pay paul was getting more difficult to do. That’s when at the end of September the man who held the loan to our home offered to buy back the home and we would walk away free and clear owing him nothing. We thought that the best idea as the alternative was stop paying and have a repossession on our credit. Now we had been looking since August for affordable housing, but hadn’t found anything. So when the man offered us the buy back the last week of September he told us we would have to be out by October 30th, 2012, That sent me into a panic… I was checking online for affordable housing all day everyday, had family and friend trying to help us and still wasnt able to find anything. (people don’t tend to move out in fall & winter here in Minnesota) So my middle brother and his wife (I call her sister) offered us to stay with them. So we packed up our entire house and it now sits in boxes above my brother’s shop. We have 1 boy 13 1/2 yrs and he is bunkin with my nephew and we have 2 daughters 10 1/2 & 12 yrs they have my brothers old office as a bedroom. Hubby and I are staying out in a VERY small travel trailer behind brothers house. we are renting the camper from hubbys brother. Now did I mention also that we have 2 cats an a dog with us too? yep one happy family!! Lol!! So far everything is going smoothly. The hardest part of all of this was when the person from one of the kids’ school referred to us as being “homeless”… Wow!! what a tremendous blow that was… it really kinda knocked the wind outta me when that word hit my ears. Then it began to sink in and continued to echo around in my brain. WE ARE FLIPPIN HOMELESS!!! never in a million years did I think we would be Homeless!! But now I have tried to just accept it and move forward. No sense in dwelling on it. Now I just have to come up with a plan to get us out of this situation because we can go “Every Which Way But Down”! 🙂
I do wanna say that this blog witll be for me to record my families adventures on this journey, but it also will be for me to share my many loves and passions. (those I listed in my about section) so please stay tuned as I think there will be a little something for everyone. Also please feel free to ask me questions or if there is something you would like me to write about let me know. I cant promise I will post on your suggestion or if I do, how fast it will happen. But I love to hear others suggestions and ideas. Many Blessings to you all!! P.S. to my family and friends. if you comment please do not use mine or my families real names… aint ready for an outtin yet 🙂 thank you ❤ ❤ ❤

About back2basicslivin

Wife, Mama to 3 human Kids, Mama to 3 fury 4-legged kids, Ordained minister, Daughter, sister, neice, grandaughter, aunty, cousin and friend. I am a jack of all trades... Aint afraid of gettin my hands dirty, I love to garden, Make Jewelry, Melt glass in my kiln, carve wooden spoons an such... really love all things crafty. I LOVE to cook. i have a been researchin self sufficiancy, prepping, off grid living, tiny house living, raising chickens, goats and other animals. i never have been formally diagnosed, but im pretty sure i am ADHD as you will see from my post. I am a firm believer in treating others as i would want to be treated. Kindness goes a lot further then being mean!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to “Homeless”

  1. Dougman says:

    You need a different picture for the cover. It’s streached out too much. Other than that, a good start honey!

  2. Dougman says:

    But watch your spelling or I will be forced to correct you 🙂

  3. Samantha says:

    Your a tough family and I know you can make it through ANYTHING!!! Keep on Keepin on!

    • Thank you Samantha 🙂 i aprreciate that you are still in my life… not as much as i would like… but still here. so how was my writing? im doing this as therapy and also because i love to write and needed an open forum to post about all my intrests. hope you hit the follow button and hope you will share the page and hit the like on facebook button. XOXOXO

  4. Barbara Anderson says:

    You aren’t ‘homeless’…you are with family. 🙂 Good luck for the future. And I love your little trailer, although I can’t say I’d want to be living in it. I’m looking for something just like it to travel in.

  5. Wow, thank you so much for sharing your story of your journey with us. I can certainly relate.. It was not too many years ago that my family was in about the same position as you. We were living in our schoolbus(halfway converted to a camper) in a friends driveway. Two of my kids were living in the house with the friends and at the time my youngest was a baby, so he, his dad and myself were in the bus. It was a struggle, but we were making it happen. Wasn’t long before word got around the school and the next thing I know, I had Heath and Welfare knocking on my bus door to do a well child check on our “homeless” family. Boy did that hurt my heart and I admit, my ego too. Thankfully they had a look to see that the kids still have food, clothing and shelter and there was not much else they could do to degrade me. (of course they weren’t jumping to offer us help either); Thanks to the support of family and friends that stood by us when we were down, we too were able to get “every which way but down” and eventually got out of that bus and into a house where we could all sleep under the same roof together again. I know you will get there soon too. I believe in you!! Thanks again for being open and sharing your story with us and I can’t wait to see how it continues to evolve. ❤ ❤

    • Thank you So Much Lisa… you have been the first person who actually understands…
      And I know how you felt about feeling degraded! its so hard when you actually have to say the word Homeless… and you have to the powers that be to get them to understand your situation. and I actually have been scared that we may get the knock on the door from social services. I have even told the kids to not mention the trailer thing. It is very inspiring to here your story. and to have watched your page grow on FB. I know we have a way to go but I know we will get through this. ❤

  6. If you build it, they will come. lol You just keep being the good, open, honest and caring person that you are and soon enough you will find yourself surrounded by the same kind of people, that will love and support you for being you. FB is great like that.
    Keep your chin up and if that knock ever comes on your door, don’t let them bring you down. Family and security don’t have to be about the fancy house, as long as you all have your “needs” met, there is nothing they can do to hurt you. They may think it is all about food, clothing, and shelter with power and running water, and those things are good to have, but what they are forgetting is that Love and Togetherness are what keep you strong and carrying on. You guys hold on to each other and you will come out of this as such a strong family. ❤ ❤

    • Hi Lisa, Ihadnt been on here in a while and just seen this… (the fb page took off and I neglected the blog…) You are right we all do have each other and that is the most important and we can get through anything! 🙂 and I aint never been one for fancy houses or things anyways… people say I am n old soul and I believe it true. I love simple stuff and simple life 🙂 and again I just wanna say thank you for all of your kind words and support!! ❤ ❤ ❤

  7. Leslie Wright says:

    Hi. Hubby, myself and 2 dogs are homeless and living in an RV, also. Our reason is because we are selling our home and moving. I know it is a different circumstance, and no children involved, but not having a home is a tough time. We have been parked beside our house for 4 months, and we are leaving this weekend to go south and find a new place to live. We will probably be in our RV for a year longer, until the house get built. I hope you and your family stay strong and things work out for you soon. At least you have each other and your family, so you are blessed. Everything else will come. I look forward to following your journey..
    Leslie

    • Wow… I knew we weren’t the only ones in that situation… it is hard but one thing I have noticed in such a short time is although I miss not having access to certain things of mine (my art supplies mostly) that I really don’t seem to miss all the stuff that cluttered our world before. so I guess this too is a positive learning experience. I wish you and your hubby the very best!! hang in there and always here if you need to chat!! (and sorry this took so long! the FB page took off so fast I neglected the blog) ❤

Leave a Reply

